2014 Nevada

Use the links below to find out about your local testing center rules and requirements. If you’re still looking for information, visit your state’s GED® testing program website to learn more, or go back to the main map.

 

State Requirements

Price & Payment

Registration & Scheduling

Test Scores

Retake Policies

GED® Test Credential

Different Languages

 

State Requirements (top)

How old do I need to be to take the test (without exceptions)?

In Nevada, the minimum age required to take the GED® test is 18 years old. 

I’m underage. What do I need to do to take the test?

This rule changes based on which state you’re testing in. In Nevada, you can be 16 or 17 and take the GED® test if you have the following exception:

The board of trustees of a school district may, upon request and for good cause shown, grant permission to take the state-approved high school equivalency assessments to a person who resides in the school district and who is at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age. Parental permission is also required. Local school districts may impose other conditions such as requiring a minimum score on a practice test.

Do I need to take a class or receive instruction before I can take the test?

No, however, persons who are at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age may be required by the local school district to demonstrate readiness with a minimum score on a practice test.

Where can I find an adult education center?

Finding an adult education center is easy. Enter your ZIP code in our locator tool and we’ll show you the adult education centers closest to you.

Do I have to take the practice test before testing?

In Nevada you’re only required to take the Official GED Practice Test™ before scheduling your test if you’re 16 years old and live in select school districts. The fee is $0 to $10 and you must score a minimum of 410 and an average of 450.

What is the score I’m required to make on the practice test before I can take the GED® test?

Persons who are at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age may be required to take a practice test by the local school district to demonstrate readiness. The minimum score is determined by the school district.

Do I need to prove I’m a resident of Nevada to take the test?

Yes, there is a residency requirement to take the test in Nevada.

The closest testing center is in a different state.  Can I take the exam there?

Some states allow people who don’t live there to take the GED® test and others don’t. You’ll need to check the residency requirement for the state that you’re interested to test in.

For Nevada: Nevada has a residency requirement.

 

Price & Payment (top)

How much does the GED® test cost?

Nevada charges $23.75 per module for the GED® test.

How much does it cost to retake the test? Can I retake the test for free?

GED Testing Service offers a discounted retake program for all GED® test-takers. According to the program’s policy, you are eligible for:

  • Two discounted retakes for each subject area taken
  • GED Testing Service fees are waived every retake ($20 per subject area test)
  • States and testing centers can choose to waive their fees
  • You must schedule retakes one at a time for the discount to apply
  • Discounted retakes cannot be combined with any other discounts
  • Retakes must occur within 12 calendar months of your initial attempt
  • After your two discounted retakes, you will need to wait at least 60 days, pay the full retake price and then you will receive two more discounted retakes

Sign up for your next test now at GED.com.

 

Registration & Scheduling (top)

Can I take all of the parts at once or do I need to setup different appointment times?

Yes, in Nevada you can take all test parts in the same day if you can find a testing center with hours that accommodate it.

What happens if I move to a different state in the middle of testing? Can I continue testing in my new state or do I have to start all over?

It depends on whether or not that state has a residency requirement.  Check the residency requirements in that state and don’t hesitate to contact the GED Administrator™ in that state with questions.

For Nevada: In Nevada you are required to be a resident to take the test there.  

Once I start testing, is there a time limit for me to finish all four subjects before my scores begin to expire?

No, there isn’t a time limit to finish the test in Nevada.

 

Test Scores (top)

What score do I need to pass the test?

You need to score a 145 on each module and 580 on the entire test battery (all four parts combined).

  • Below Passing: 100-144
  • GED® Passing Score: 145-164
  • GED® College Ready: 165-174
  • GED® College Ready + Credit: 175-200

Retake Policies (top)

If I don’t pass, how long do I have to wait before taking the test again?

In Nevada, there’s is a 24 hour wait period before taking the test again after failing a subject area test the first time. After taking a test subject 3 times, you'll have to wait 60 days before retesting. There's no limit to how many times you can test in a year.  

NOTE: We have concerns about the availability of alternative test forms available in a year.

Retake rules are enforced for students retesting in different languages. For example, if you take an English test three times, then move to a Spanish test, the GED Testing Service 60-day wait period is enforced. If a state has additional retesting requirements, these requirements will also be enforced.

Questions? Call Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

NOTE: We have concerns about retesting in a different language. Nevada does not allow combining different language version within a test battery.

Are there any other requirements before I take a re-test?

No, but you are encouraged to receive adult basic education (ABE) instruction and re-testing referral from an instructor. Finding an adult education center is easy. Enter your ZIP code in our locator tool and we’ll show you the closest learning centers to you.

How much does it cost to retake the test? Can I retake the test for free?

GED Testing Service offers a discounted retake program for all GED® test-takers. According to the program’s policy, you are eligible for:

  • Two discounted retakes for each subject area taken
  • GED Testing Service fees are waived every retake ($20 per subject area test)
  • States and testing centers can choose to waive their fees
  • You must schedule retakes one at a time for the discount to apply
  • Discounted retakes cannot be combined with any other discounts
  • Retakes must occur within 12 calendar months of your initial attempt
  • After your two discounted retakes, you will need to wait at least 60 days, pay the full retake price and then you will receive two more discounted retakes

Sign up for your next test now at GED.com.

Why can’t I re-test the subject that I failed?

Some states require people to finish taking all four subjects before being allowed to re-test in the areas that weren’t passed.

In Nevada, you’re required to finish the entire test before re-testing on any subjects.

Questions? Feel free to call Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

 

GED® Test Credential (top)

I took and passed the test but the jurisdiction won’t issue my diploma. Can you help me?

Sorry to hear that you’re having trouble with your diploma. Have you contacted your local testing center or state administrator yet?

My guess is that there may be additional requirements that you need to meet. You can call your state’s office at (775) 687 -7287.

to find out more about your credential.

Why do I need to work with my jurisdiction? Can’t I just get the diploma from you?

GED Testing Service develops the GED® test and works with each state to offer the test. The credential is issued based upon rules of each individual state—most states have slightly different rules and regulations.

Because of the state-by-state differences, GED Testing Service doesn’t issue diplomas. Nevada uses DiplomaSender (www.diplomasender.com) to issue credentials. If you have further questions, you can call Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

After I start taking the exam modules, how much time do I have to complete all of them to get credentialed?

This depends on the state you’re testing in. In Nevada you don’t have a time limit to complete the GED® test.   

I want to order a copy of my transcript and/or diploma.

To request duplicate copies contact DiplomaSender (www.diplomasender.com).

In Nevada you received a certificate along with your original transcript when you earned your GED® test credential. The transcript is the official record of your GED® test credential and can be used as proof for employment, schools, etc.

What is the GED® credential in my state called?

In Nevada the credential is called the Certificate of High School Equivalency.


GED® Test Language Versions (top)

Can I take my GED® test in Spanish?

Yes, in Nevada you can take the GED® test in Spanish.

Find a local testing center.

Questions? Please contact Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

Can I take the GED® test in French?

No, you can’t take the French version of the GED® test in Nevada.

Questions? Please contact Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

Am I allowed to combine different language versions of the test together?

No, Nevada residents aren’t allowed to combine language versions to complete the test. This means you must take all four subjects in one language to earn your GED® test credential. You will not be allowed to combine Spanish tests with English tests or any other language version.

Questions? Please contact Nevada’s state office at (775) 687 -7287.

Does Nevada have any requirements for English as a Second Language (ESL)?

English as a Second Language (ESL) instruction can help any non-native English speaker, but there aren’t any requirements for ESL classes in Nevada.