2014 New Jersey

Use the links below to find out about your local testing center rules and requirements. If you’re still looking for information, visit your state’s GED® testing program website to learn more, or go back to the main map.

 

State Requirements

Price & Payment

Registration & Scheduling

Test Scores

Retake Policies

GED® Test Credential

Different Languages

 

State Requirements (top)

How old do I need to be to take the test (without exceptions)?

In New Jersey, the minimum age required to take the GED® test is 18 years old. You’ll need to provide parental consent if under the age of 18.

I’m underage. What do I need to do to take the test?

This rule changes based on which state you’re testing in. In New Jersey, you can be 16 or 17 and take the GED® test if you have the following exception:

16 or 17 year olds must complete a Certificate of Consent to Participate form verifying that you’re not enrolled in school, have permission to take the GED® test and have a parent or legal guardian accompany the test-taker to the test center with your completed Certificate of Consent to Participate form.

If you have a legal guardian, you must bring a copy of the court document awarding guardianship

Written confirmation of eligibility must be provided by all candidates.

Do I need to take a class or receive instruction before I can take the test?

No, New Jersey doesn’t require you to prepare for the GED® test in an adult education classroom. However, studying in a classroom setting is a good opportunity to get up to speed on the topics and areas you’ll find on the GED® test.  

Where can I find an adult education center?

Finding an adult education center is easy. Enter your ZIP code in our locator tool and we’ll show you the adult education centers closest to you.

Do I have to take the practice test before testing?

No, you’re not required to take the Official GED Practice Test™ before taking the test. However, the Official GED Practice Test™ is available at GEDmarketplace.com and is a good measure to see if you’re ready to take the GED® test or not.

Do I need to prove I’m a resident of New Jersey to take the test?

Yes, in New Jersey you’re required to be a resident. You will need to prove your residency at the test center on the day of testing. You must provide one main identification and one secondary identification:

Acceptable Main Identification:

  • Government issued photo identification: e.g. New Jersey Driver's License, New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicle ID, New Jersey County ID, United States Passport.            
  • Foreign Passport is accepted with an accompanying letter from you Consulate verifying the authenticity of the passport and your identity. The letter must be in English and include your Consulate information.

One of the above forms of identification must list your New Jersey address. If they don't, a utility bill, bank statement, lease, automotive registration, or automotive insurance ID must be provided as well.

Acceptable Secondary Identification:

  • Social Security Card
  • Social Insurance Card
  • Taxpayer ID Card
  • Deferred Action Card (DREAM Act individuals only)
  • Birth Certificate

If you have more questions about proof of residency, please contact the state office at (609) 777-1050.

The closest testing center is in a different state.  Can I take the exam there?

Some states allow people who don’t live there to take the GED® test and others don’t. You’ll need to check the residency requirement for the state that you’re interested to test in.

For New Jersey: Sorry, New Jersey doesn’t allow people to take the test there unless they can prove residency.  

 

Price & Payment (top)

How much does the GED® test cost?

New Jersey charges $30 per module for the GED® test.

How much does it cost to retake the test? Can I retake the test for free?

GED Testing Service offers a discounted retake program for all GED® test-takers. According to the program’s policy, you are eligible for:

  • Two discounted retakes for each subject area taken
  • GED Testing Service fees are waived every retake ($20 per subject area test)
  • States and testing centers can choose to waive their fees
  • You must schedule retakes one at a time for the discount to apply
  • Discounted retakes cannot be combined with any other discounts
  • Retakes must occur within 12 calendar months of your initial attempt
  • After your two discounted retakes, you will need to wait at least 60 days, pay the full retake price and then you will receive two more discounted retakes

Sign up for your next test now at GED.com.

 

 

Registration & Scheduling (top)

Can I take all of the parts at once or do I need to setup different appointment times?

Yes, in New Jersey you can take all test parts in the same day if you can find a testing center with hours that accommodate it.

What happens if I move to a different state in the middle of testing? Can I continue testing in my new state or do I have to start all over?

It depends on whether or not that state has a residency requirement.  Check the residency requirements in that state and don’t hesitate to contact the GED Administrator™ in that state with questions.

For New Jersey: In New Jersey you’re required to be a resident to take the test there.

Once I start testing, is there a time limit for me to finish all four subjects before my scores begin to expire?

No, there isn’t a time limit to finish the test in New Jersey.

 

Test Scores (top)

What score do I need to pass the test?

New Jersey test-takers need to score a 150 on each test and 600 on the entire test battery (all four parts combined).  

  • Below Passing: 100-149
  • GED® Passing Score: 150-169
  • GED® Honors Score: 170-200

Retake Policies (top)

If I don’t pass, how long do I have to wait before taking the test again?

There’s no wait period in New Jersey for people who didn’t pass the first time. You can take the test again whenever you’re ready. However, we encourage you receive additional instruction in the classroom or try your hand at a practice test before you re-test.  

How much does it cost to retake the test? Can I retake the test for free?

GED Testing Service offers a discounted retake program for all GED® test-takers. According to the program’s policy, you are eligible for:

  • Two discounted retakes for each subject area taken
  • GED Testing Service fees are waived every retake ($20 per subject area test)
  • States and testing centers can choose to waive their fees
  • You must schedule retakes one at a time for the discount to apply
  • Discounted retakes cannot be combined with any other discounts
  • Retakes must occur within 12 calendar months of your initial attempt
  • After your two discounted retakes, you will need to wait at least 60 days, pay the full retake price and then you will receive two more discounted retakes

Sign up for your next test now at GED.com.

Why can’t I re-test the subject that I failed?

Some states require people to finish taking all four subjects before being allowed to re-test in the areas that weren’t passed.

In New Jersey, you’re are not required to finish the entire test before re-testing on any subjects.

Questions? Feel free to call New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.

 

GED® Test Credential (top)

I took and passed the test but the jurisdiction won’t issue my diploma. Can you help me?

Sorry to hear that you’re having trouble with your diploma. Have you contacted your local testing center or state administrator yet?

My guess is that there may be additional requirements that you need to meet. You can call your state’s office at (609) 777-1050 to find out more about your credential.

Why do I need to work with my jurisdiction? Can’t I just get the diploma from you?

GED Testing Service develops the GED® test and works with each state to offer the test. The credential is issued based upon rules of each individual state—most states have slightly different rules and regulations.

Because of the state-by-state differences, GED Testing Service doesn’t issue diplomas. That’s why we encourage you to work closely with your state to get an answer. You can call New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.

After I start taking the exam modules, how much time do I have to complete all of them to get credentialed?

This depends on the state you’re testing in. In New Jersey you don’t have a time limit to complete the GED® test.   

I want to order a copy of my transcript and/or diploma.

Duplicate diplomas are not issued in New Jersey.

Go here to request a duplicate transcript.

What is the GED® credential in my state called?

In New Jersey the credential is called the New Jersey State Issued High School Diploma.


GED® Test Language Versions (top)

Can I take my GED® test in Spanish?

Yes, in New Jersey you can take the GED® test in Spanish.

Find a local testing center.

Questions? Please contact New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.

Can I take the GED® test in French?

No, you can’t take the French version of the GED® test in New Jersey.

Questions? Please contact New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.

Am I allowed to combine different language versions of the test together?

No, New Jersey residents aren’t allowed to combine language versions to complete the test. This means you must take all four subjects in one language to earn your GED® test credential. You will not be allowed to combine Spanish tests with English tests or any other language version.

Questions? Please contact New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.

Does New Jersey have any requirements for English as a Second Language (ESL)?

In New Jersey, an English as a Second Language (ESL) test is required of non-English-speaking test-takers. Questions? Please contact New Jersey’s state office at (609) 777-1050.